2019 AFL Sapphire Coast Finals Series Details

With just over one week until the commencement of the 2019 AFL Sapphire Coast Final Series, the venues for finals and Grand Finals have now been confirmed!

Grand Final action will return to Berrambool Oval, Merimbula for the first time since 2016 when the Merimbula Diggers host AFL Sapphire Coasts showpiece event.

The Diggers will finish top in the Men’s First Grade competition and will be planning to claim the Senior Premiership in front of a big home crowd on Saturday 31st August.

The Preliminary Finals will be hosted by Narooma Lions at Bill Smyth Oval in Narooma, the venue for last years Grand Final. The Lions did an amazing job at last years Grand Final and this years Preliminary Final allocation is a reflection on this.

As in previous years, the Semi Finals will be hosted by the highest qualifier in each final in the Men’s First Grade competition so while the  venue of the Second Semi Final has been confirmed with Merimbula Diggers unable to be passed at the top of the table with one game remaining and therefore hosting at Berrambool Oval, the First Semi Final played on Saturday 10th August has yet to have a location confirmed. Both Pambula and Tathra could still host this day with this weekends results to determine where.

Finals Details

Semi Finals 1 (Minor) 3rd v 4th – Saturday 10th August at TBC

Semi Finals 2 (Major) 1st v 2nd – Saturday 17th August at Berrambool Oval, Merimbula

Preliminary Finals – Saturday 24th August at Bill Smyth Oval, Narooma

Grand Finals – Saturday 31st August at Berrambool Oval, Merimbula

Likely Finals start times (excluding Grand Finals)

Under 12s – 8:00am

Under 14s – 9:10am

Under 16s – 10:30am

Men’s Reserves – 11:55am

Women’s – 1:20pm

Men’s Seniors – 2:45pm

Likely Grand Final start times

Under 12s – 8:00am

Under 14s – 9:10am

Under 16s – 10:35am

Men’s Reserves – 12:00pm

Women’s – 1:30pm

Men’s Seniors – 3:00pm


Keep up-to-date with all AFL Sapphire Coast related news by following us on Facebook.